Cryan, Keane and Walshe Named Athletes of the Year at Swim Ireland Awards

Swim Ireland athletes Ellen Walshe (swimming). Ellen Keane (para swimming) and Clare Cryan (diving) have been named as Athletes of the Year at the 2022 Swim Ireland Awards which took place earlier today (Saturday) at the Crowne Plaza, Blanchardstown.

Ellen Walshe won the Swimmer of the Year Award, for her history making silver medal at the 2021 World Short Course Championships, where she claimed silver in the 400m Individual Medley; a first ever silver for Ireland and Ireland’s first female to win a world medal.

World Para Swimming Championship silver medallist Ellen Keane won the Para Swimmer of the Year Award. Keane’s coach Dave Malone collected the Performance Coach of the Year accolade, world bronze medallist Nicole Turner and Commonwealth Games bronze medallist Barry McClements are also in his coaching group.

Cryan won the Diver of the Year Award for her performances at the European Championships in Rome in July, where she placed fifth in the 3M Springboard Final.

World Para Swimming Championships double bronze medallist Róisín NíRíain was honoured with the Performance Pathway Para Swimmer of the Year. European Juniors semi-finalist Grace Hodgins won Performance Pathway Swimmer of the Year, and after an incredible breakthrough year, where he won 1M Springboard Bronze at the European Junior Championships, Jake Passmore took home the Performance Pathway Diver of the Year Award. Hodgins’ Trojan SC Coach Jonathan Preston was named Performance Pathway Coach of the Year.

Cork club Dolphin SC received the Club of the Year Award after being selected from a shortlist of four which included Claremorris SC, Kingdom SC, and Cathal Brugha WPC.

Discipline awards were made to Ian Hanrahan (Water Polo), Aidan Brennan (Masters), Jessika Robson (Open Water) and Síomha NicBrádaigh (Disability), while Bangor’s Antonia Hoskins was awarded Official of the Year.

Four volunteers were honoured for their work within their clubs and regions, Julie Morgan from Leinster, Kevin Wilmott (Munster), Yvonne Morris (Connacht) and Helen Lunny and Paula Boersma (Ulster).

There were two inductees into the Swim Ireland Hall of Fame, with over twenty years of tutoring experience, Martin Kavanagh and Mary Garvey have supporting hundreds of swimming teachers and coaches gain their qualifications, trained over 100 Swim Ireland tutors and taught thousands of children to swim. Few people have had such a positive influence on teaching and coaching of aquatics within Ireland and we are delighted to recognise them.

Swim Ireland President Mary Haughney dedicated her President’s award to coaches Martin McGann and Grace Meade for their contributions to the early careers of international medallists Daniel Wiffen and Mona McSharry. And, having missed out due to Covid, past President Kevin Dowling presented his award to lifelong volunteer Patricia Cleary.

Speaking at the event Swim Ireland CEO Sarah Keane said ‘We are delighted to come together, after a three- year hiatus due to covid, to celebrate the success of our athletes, our volunteers, our coaches, our educators and to recognise and honour the significant contribution they make day in day out. It was fantastic to see so many of our community present to celebrate an outstanding year for Irish Aquatics.’

2022 Swim Ireland Award Winners

Club of the Year

Dolphin Swimming SC

Performance Athlete of the Year (Swimming)

Ellen Walshe (Templeogue)

Performance Athlete of the Year (Diving)

Clare Cryan (Sheffield DC)

Performance Athlete of the Year (Para Swimming)

Ellen Keane (NAC SC)

Performance Coach of the Year

Dave Malone (NAC SC)

Performance Pathway Athlete of the Year (Diving)

Jake Passmore (City of Leeds DC)

Performance Pathway Athlete of the Year (Swimming)

Grace Hodgins (Trojan SC)

Performance Pathway Athlete of the Year (Para Swimming)

Róisín NíRíain (Limerick SC)

Performance Pathway Coach of the Year

Jonathan Preston (Trojan SC)

Volunteer of the Year (Connacht)

Yvonne Morris (Claremorris SC)

Volunteer of the Year (Leinster)

Julie Morgan (Coolmine SC)

Volunteer of the Year (Munster)

Kevin Wilmott (Splashworld Sharks SC)

Volunteer of the Year (Ulster)

Helen Lunny & Paula Boersma (Leander ASC)

Open Water Swimmer of the Year

Jessika Robson (Lisburn City SC)

Masters Outstanding Achievement Award

Aidan Brennan (Kilkenny Masters)

Outstanding Contribution to Water Polo

Ian Hanrahan (St. Vincents WPC)

Disability Swimmer of the Year

Síomha NicBrádaigh (Lisburn City SC)

Official of the Year

Antonia Hoskins (Bangor SC)

President’s Award

Grace Meade (Marlins SC)

Martin McGann (Sligo SC)

Patricia Cleary (Athlone SC)

Hall of Fame

Martin Kavanagh

Mary Garvey