Irish Records Tumble at Swim Ireland Winter Championships

Irish swimmers record breaking form continued today at Swim Ireland’s Irish National Winter Championships at the National Aquatic Centre with three new records from Ellen Walshe, Jack Cassin, and Ards Swimming Club.

Ellen Walshe, returning to racing after a prolonged period away, looked in impressive form as she added a 50m Butterfly National Title and New Irish Record to a 100m Individual Medley title from yesterday. Templeogue’s Walshe knocked .2 off the previous standard of 26.10, that she had set herself in 2019, touching the wall in 25.90.

Jack Cassin of Dolphin continued his record-breaking form from yesterday, where a set a new Irish Junior Record in the 100m Individual Medley, with a new junior standard in the 400m Individual Medley. 18-year-old Cassin knocked over four seconds off his own 2021 record of 4:19.58, coming home for gold and the national title in 4:15.28.

Ards got the second day of competition underway this morning with a new Irish Junior Record in the 4x50m Mixed Freestyle Relay. Charlie Eatwell, Grace Davison, Zophia Quigley and Benji Cummings combined for a time of 1:37.20 to win silver.

The Larne team of Thomas Leggett, Morgan Berryman, Kaitlyn McCaw, and Danielle Hill won gold in the event in 1:39.11. The same quartet then came together for the 4x50m Medley Relay to win a second gold in 1:47.17.

National Centre Ulster and Ards swimmer Victoria Catterson cruised to victory in the Women’s 200m Freestyle Final. Catterson was the only swimmer under the two-minute mark winning gold in 1:58.62 Tokyo Olympian Finn McGeever claimed the Men’s title in 1:48.77 ahead of New Ross’ Evan Bailey (1:48.88) and Coolmine’s Danny Morgan (1:49.73)

Trojan’s Ronan Fahey claimed the national title in the Men’s 1500m Freestyle Final in 15:56.82 followed by Limerick’s Denis O’Brien (16:02.38) and Aer Lingus’ Ben Moran in 16:14.73. Lurgan’s Grace Cochrane won the women’s final in 17:36.83 with Jessica Gannon just behind in 17:38.35, while Hazel Bentley took bronze in 17:44.03.

UCD’s Jena Macdougald added the 100m Backstroke title to the 50m title she won yesterday in 1:00.03, Maria Godden (1:00.24) and Danielle Hill (1:00.37) were right behind her for silver and gold, respectively. National Centre Limerick’s John Shortt won the men’s final, the 15-year-old clocked 54.43 to win his first national title.

The 400m Individual Medley Women’s title went to Lurgan’s Hannah McCabrey. McCabrey won gold in 4:57.46 after a great battle with Swim Belfast’s Poppy Matias who won silver in 4:58.14.

The final event of the day saw Molly Mayne add the 200m Breaststroke National Title to the 100m that she won yesterday. The Templeogue swimmer won her second title in 2:22.97 ahead of Ellie McCartney (2:26.50) and Niamh Coyne (2:26.74).

National Centre Limerick’s Eoin Corby also doubled up on Breaststroke wins, scaring Uiseann Cooke’s Irish Record of 2:06.81 to win the Men’s Final in 2:06.86.

Competition continues tomorrow.


Live Stream: Swim Ireland YouTube channel

Results: Live Timing or Meet Mobile App (search 2022 Irish National Winter Championships)

Schedule: Heats 9.30am/Finals 5pm