Swim Ireland Announce First Athletes’ Commission

Swim Ireland are delighted to announce our first Athletes’ Commission for Swimming, Para Swimming and Diving. The Commission was appointed in 2022 with the first in-person meeting taking place last month.

London 2012 Olympian Gráinne Murphy and Rio 2016 Olympian Nicholas Quinn will co-chair the committee with seven additional members representing the disciplines including Adrianna Kazimierczak (Swimming), Cadan McCarthy (Swimming), Calum Bain (Swimming), Clare Cryan (Diving), David Thompson (Swimming), Erin Riordan (Swimming) and Patrick Flanagan (Para Swimming). Swim Ireland is delighted with the calibre of athletes on the Committee and their drive and enthusiasm and look forward to working with them in the months and years to come. A Commission for Water Polo athletes will follow later this year.

The role of the Athletes’ Commission is to act as a consultative body of Swim Ireland and as a voice for Irish athletes within these aquatic disciplines. The commission will ensure that strong channels of communication are in place for athlete specific issues at the appropriate level and that the athletes’ views are heard and considered in Swim Ireland decision-making. The Commission will also ensure respect for the rights and well-being of the Athletes and to draw up recommendations to that effect as required.

Speaking on the announcement Gráinne Murphy commented I am delighted to co-chair the commission with Nick Quinn, a new venture for Swim Ireland which I am thrilled to be part of. The voice of the athlete is important and I am looking forward to giving the members of Swim Ireland the platform and opportunity to have their voice heard.’

Nicholas Quinn added The Athletes’ Commission is an exciting new venture for Swim Ireland and we’ll work hard to listen to our athletes and ensure their views and opinions are heard over the next two years. On a personal level, I’m delighted to co-chair the Commission and I’m excited to get to work representing our Swimmers, Divers and Para Swimmers.’

Swim Ireland CEO Sarah Keane commented ‘We are delighted to have established our Athlete’s Commission and to have an effective voice for our swimmers, para swimmers and divers in Ireland. It is important that our athletes have a say and we look forward to working with them in the coming months and years to help ensure that we have happy, healthy, supported athletes across our disciplines.’

Head of Clubs and Competitions Adam Cox saidTo ensure we take an athlete centered approach when making decisions in our sport, it is hugely important to have the voice and thoughts of our athletes. Having spent considerable time with our athletes through club visits and at competitions, I know firsthand how much knowledge and expertise they have to help us drive Swim Ireland forward. The athlete commission provides a great opportunity to formalise this process and for athletes at all levels to have their voice heard. I look forward to working with the commission over the coming year and the different perspective they will bring.’

National Performance Director Jon Rudd added ‘To have a formal vehicle by which our athletes can express their thoughts and views as Irish aquatics progresses is a vital element for all modern-day sport and I am very pleased to see this come to fruition after extensive work and consultation to put it into place. When you look at who the constituent members are at this time, it is immediately apparent that they have much to offer us and we all look forward to working with them in the weeks and months to come’

The Athlete’s Commission can be contacted at athletescommission@swimireland.ie

Swim Ireland Athlete’s Commission Member Bios

Gráinne Murphy (Co-Chair)

One of Ireland’s most accomplished aquatics athletes, Gráinne won three gold medals and a bronze at the 2009 European Junior Swimming Championships before gaining senior success at the 2010 European Championships winning a silver medal in the 1500m Freestyle. Grainne went on to win 400m and 800m Bronze medals at the 2010 European Championships (25m) in Eindhoven. In 2012 Gráinne qualified to represent Ireland at the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Nicholas Quinn (Co-Chair)

Hailing from Castlebar in Co. Mayo, Nicholas has competed for Ireland at the highest level, including European and World Championships and onto the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro specialising in Breaststroke swimming. Nicholas has recently achieved a Master’s Degree in Psychology and Performance Psychology and has recently re-located to Dublin.

Cadan McCarthy

Cadan has been a member of Mallow Swans Swimming Club since 2008 and joined National Centre (Limerick) in 2017. He is currently in his final year of study at the University of Limerick where he is studying Financial Mathematics. Cadan’s main swimming events are 200m and 400m Individual Medley and his swimming career highlights include that of being a World Schools Championships medallist, a member of an Irish European Junior team and a multiple Irish National champion in a swimming career that continues to date.

David Thompson

David retired from swimming in 2022 and was a member of Bangor Swimming Club and National Centre (Ulster) at that time. During a highly successful career, David was a sprint Freestyle specialist who proudly competed at two Commonwealth Games for Northern Ireland and a European Championships for Ireland. David’s fondest memory is racing the 4x100m Freestyle Relay Final at the 2018 Commonwealth Games on the Gold Coast with long-time teammates Jordan Sloan, Calum Bain & Curtis Coulter.

Erin Riordan

Erin trains at the National Centre in (Dublin) and is a National Programme athlete. Erin’s career highlight to date was in representing Ireland at the 2021 European Championships in Budapest where she took part in two Irish Senior Record breaking relays. Erin continues to train towards the World Championships in 2023 and the Olympic Games in 2024.

Patrick Flanagan

Patrick is a retired Paralympian who specialised in the 400m Freestyle during an illustrious athletic career. He has trained with Longford Swimming Club, UCD and NAC Swimming Club throughout his time as a swimmer, representing Ireland at European Para and World Para Championships. Patrick’s career highlight is competing for Ireland at the 2021 Tokyo Paralympics.

Clare Cryan

Clare is an Irish international diver with two international medals to her name from FINA/World Aquatics Grand Prix events. She is the Irish Senior Record holder in both the 1m and 3m Springboard events and was also a finalist in her first World Championships in the 1m Springboard in 2019 and was a finalist at the most recent European Championships in Rome in 2022 in the 1m and 3m Springboard.

Adrianna Kazimierczak

Adrianna Kazimierczak is a member of Galway Swimming Club and debuted at National level at the Irish Summer National Championships in 2018. Some of Adrianna’s proudest achievements are that of being a Finalist at an Irish National Championships and representing Connacht at the Scottish National Championships. She has been a Connacht champion for a number of years and continues to swim and train with her club in 2023.

Calum Bain

Calum is an international swimmer who has competed at European Championship, World Championship and World University Games levels for Ireland and at a Commonwealth Games for Northern Ireland. Calum has won numerous National titles in sprint Freestyle and Butterfly events and is a regular member of the National team as both an individual and relay athlete.